Monster Hunter Stories 2 Poster 8576

Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin – What’s Inside Each Edition?

It’s coming… Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin will be released on the Nintendo Switch and for PC on July 9th. Monster Hunter Stories 2 follows on from the 2017 game, which is itself a spin-off from the Capcom Monster Hunter franchise. Like Monster Hunter, Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin is an RPG turn-based adventure. If that sounds tantalising, the even better news is that pre-orders are available for this game already, so you don’t have to wait around for release day.

Before you buy, though, you might want to choose which edition will best satisfy your hunter cravings. There are four options with different bonuses available from various retailers:

Just the Game

Of course, if you’re saving up for the game and all you want is to purchase the physical or digital copy of Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin, then this is the best option with no frills or extra cost. You might miss out on special items, collectables, or bonus content, but you’ll get the game you’ve been waiting for since 2017!

Deluxe Edition

The deluxe edition of this game is available in a digital-exclusive form. When you buy the deluxe digital edition, you’ll also get bonus content extras. This includes some fantastic add-ons:

  • Rider’s Layered Armor:

Razewing Armor Alpha

Razewing Armor Beta

  • Ena’s Outfit:

Kuan Coat

  • Navirou’s Outfits:

Pukei-Pukei Costume

Nergigante Costume

  • Rider’s Hairstyle:

Spiky Nergal

  • Sticker Sets:

Adventure Buddies 2

Adventure Buddies 3

Capcom is careful to note that the layered armour and outfits for Ena and Navirou only change the characters’ appearance. They do not include any weapons. While the deluxe edition runs a little pricier, it’s definitely worth it for all that added armour and stickers.

Collector’s Edition

This one is a little controversial, but there is, in fact, a unique collector’s edition of Monster Hunter Stories 2 available exclusively from Gamestop. This is a difficult one because the offer is intended for US customers where the Gamestop chain is situated. Still, if you’re an avid Monster Hunter Stories fan, you might be able to get your hands on this edition. It includes:

  • Razewing Ratha amiibo
  • Deluxe Kit DLC Pack
  • Sticker Pack
  • Wings of Ruin Enamel Pin
  • Monster Hunter Stories 2 Amiibo
  • Razewing Rathalos amiibo
  • Razewing Rathalos amiibo

Again, this offer is currently exclusive to the United States and EB Games as that’s where the amiibo are available–from Gamestop only. This is bittersweet news for any UK players, but there’s always hope on the horizon that these editions will become more widely available.


The good news for anyone able to pre-order either the standard or deluxe edition is there are pre-order bonuses. When you pre-order, you’ll receive a Kamura Maiden Outfit for the Ena character. The official website notes that this pre-order bonus may be made available after launch and that you should note that Ena’s outfits only change her appearance.

Which edition is going to make it to your wishlist? Don’t forget that if you’re a Monster Hunter player too, you can take advantage of the bonus Rider’s Layered Armor: Kamura Garb in Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin.

If you have save data from your Palamute-riding adventures in Kamura Village, load up Monster Hunter Stories 2 to receive this special layered armour.